BAFTA Film Awards 2017 – Predictions

It’s that time of year where the best of the British Film industry and our international brethren  come to celebrate a year at the movies. So as the stars take to the red carpet right this minute, here are our predictions for the impending award ceremony.

Image result for moonlight film
Here’s the thing: I really don’t want La La Land to sweep the board. Granted, it’s a triumphant modern musical but I believe the diversity of movies this year including horror, drama, comedy, and science fiction all deserve a shot at the copious amount of awards. So while perhaps I believe that Emma Stone and Justin Horowitz deserve to collect the gong, I also am under the utmost belief that Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight should score the Best Film award because it is the most impeccable piece of

What do you think? Here are our predictions:

Best Film 

I, Daniel Blake 
La La Land – Will Win
Manchester by the Sea 
Moonlight – Want to Win

Best British Film 

Under the Shadow – Want to Win
I Daniel Blake – Will Win
American Honey 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 
Notes on Blindness 

Best Supporting Actress

Hayley Squires – I Daniel Blake
Naomie Harris – Moonlight – Want to Win
Viola Davis – Fences – Will Win
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea
Nicole Kidman – Lion

Best Supporting Actor 

Mahershala Ali – Moonlight – Will Win/Want to Win
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals
Dev Patel – Lion
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water

Best Leading Actress 

Emma Stone – La La Land – Will Win
Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train 
Amy Adams – Arrival  – Want to Win
Natalie Portman – Jackie
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins

Best Leading Actor 

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea – Will Win/Want to Win
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals 
Ryan Gosling – La La Land 
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Image result for la la land

Outstading Debut by British Writer, Director, or Producer

Mike Carey & Camille Gatin – The Girl With All The Gifts
George Amponsah & Dionne Walker – The Hard Stop 
Peter Middleton, James Spinney, and Jo-Jo Ellison – Notes on Blindness 
John Donnelly & Ben A. WIlliams – The Pass
Babak Anvari, Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, and Lucan Toh – Under the Shadow – Will Win/Want to Win

Film Not in the English Language  

Son of Saul 
Toni Erdmann – Will Win/Want to Win


13th – Will Win/Want to Win
The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years 
The Eagle Huntress 
Notes on Blindness – Want to Win too 

Animated Film 

Finding Dory 
Kubo and the Two Strings – Want to Win
Zootropolis – Will Win 


Denis Villeneuve – Arrival – Want to Win
Ken Loach – I, Daniel Blake
Damien Chazelle – La La Land – Will Win
Kenneth Longergan – Manchester by the Sea
Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals 

Original Screenplay

Taylor Sheridan – Hell or High Water 
Paul Laverty – I, Daniel Blake 
Damien Chazelle – La La Land – Will Win
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight – Want to Win

Adapted Screenplay 

Eric Heisserer – Arrival 
Robert Schenkkan & Andrew Knight – Hacksaw Ridge
Theodore Melfi & Allison Schroeder – Hidden Figures – Will Win/Want to Win
Luke Davies – Lion 
Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals

Best Original Music 

Jjohan Johannsson – Arrival 
Mica Levi – Jackie 
Justin Hurwitz – La La Land – Will Win/Want to Win
Dustin O’Halloran, Huschka – Lion 
Abel Korzeniowski – Nocturnal Animals


Bradford Young – Arrival
Giles Nuttgens – Hell or High Water 
Linus Sandgren – La La Land – Will Win/Want to Win
Greig Fraser – Lion 
Seamus McGarvey – Nocturnal Animals 


Joe Walker – Arrival – Want to Win
John Gilbert – Hacksaw Ridge 
Tom Cross – La La Land – Will Win
Jennifer Lame – Manchester by the Sea 
Joan Sobel – Nocturnal Animals

Production Design 

John Bush & Charles Wood – Doctor Strange – Will Win/Want to Win
Stuart Craig & Anna Pinnock – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 
Jess Gonchor & Nancy Haigh – Hail, Caeser! 
Sandy REynoldss-Wasco & David Wasco – Arrival 
Shane Valentino & Meg Everist – Nocturnal Animals

Costume Design 

Joanna Johnston – Allied 
Colleen Atwood – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Want to Win
Consolata Boyle – Florence Foster Jenkins
Madeline Fontaine – Jackie 
Mary Zophres – La La Land – Will Win

Make Up & Hair 

Jeremy Woodhead – Doctor Strange 
J. Roy Helland & Daniel Phillips – Florence Foster Jenkins 
Shame Thomas – Hacksaw Ridge 
Donald Mowat & Yolanda Toussieng – Nocturnal Animals 
TBA – Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Will Win/Want to Win


Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariepy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare – Arrival – Want to Win
Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman – Deepwater Horizon
Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright – Hacksaw Ridge 
Mildren Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A. Marrow, Andy Nelson – La La Land – Will Win

Image result for Arrival
Special Visual Effects 

Louis Morin – Arrival – Want to Win
Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathon Fawkner – Doctor Strange – Will Win
Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 
Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez – The Jungle Book 
Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Summer – Rogue One: A Star Wars Story 

British Short Animation

The Alan Dimension
A Love Story – Will Win/Want to Win

Best Short Film

Home – Will Win/Want to Win
Mouth of Hell 
The Party 

The EE Rising Star Award 

Tom Holland
Ruth Negga – Will Win/Want to Win
Lucas Hedges
Laia Costa
Anya Taylor-Joy – Also Want to Win

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.