Film Independent Spirit Awards – Winners

Once again the Film Independent Spirit Awards winner proves exactly how it should be done. Lulu Wang’s impossibly brilliant drama The Farewell that is devoid of nominations at the Academy Awards, won the Best Picture award at last night’s ceremony. Wang’s speech ferociously told the industry that there are woman out there making films or are ready to make films. No encouragement needed – just give them the job.  Zhao Shuzhen also picked up the award for Best Supporting Actress.

Hosted by Aubrey Plaza, the night seemed a fun cousin to the stuffy, suited award ceremony. Highlights include the Gay Male Choir of Los Angeles singing an ode to all those moments in cinema you didn’t realise were gay culminating in a special ode to Laura Dern.

Image result for adam sandler film independent

There was also the impressive speech by Adam Sandler as he, quite rightly, scooped up the award for Best Actor. Lambasting tonight’s Oscar ceremony whilst also praising indie filmmaking duo the Safdie’s as well as the countless comedy films that made Sandler who he is today. Uncut Gems also won Best Directing whilst the film also won Best Editing.

Big winners of  included Willem Dafoe  as Best Support Actor. The Lighthouse also scooped up the award for Best Cinematography. The Best Screenplay award went to Noah Baumbach for Marriage Story whilst Best First Screenplay when to See You Yesterday.

Parasite scooped up an award for Best International Film, the one award from last night that will probably be tonight.

Here are the full list of winners!
Best Feature
A Hidden Life
The Farewell
Marriage Story
Uncut Gems

Best First Feature
Booksmart – WINNER
The Climb
The Last Black Man In San Francisco
See You Yesterday

Best Female Lead
Karen Allen, Colewell
Hong Chau, Driveways
Elisabeth Moss, Her smell
Mary Kay Place, Diane
Alfre Woodard, Clemency
Renée Zellweger, Judy – WINNER

Best Male Lead
Chris Galust, Give Me Liberty
Kelvin Harrison Jr., Luce
Robert Pattinson, The Lighthouse
Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems – WINNER
Matthias Schoenaerts, The Mustang

Best Director
Robert Eggers, The Lighthouse
Alma Har’el, Honey Boy
Julius Onah, Luce
Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems – WINNER
Lorene Scafaria, Hustlers

Best Documentary
American Factory – WINNER
Apollo 11
For Sama
Island of the Hungry Ghosts

Best Supporting Male
Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse – WINNER
Noah Jupe, Honey Boy
Shia Labeouf, Honey Boy
Jonathan Majors, The Last Black Man In San Francisco
Wendell Pierce, Burning Cane

Best Supporting Female
Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
Taylor Russell, Waves
Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell – WINNER
Lauren “Lolo” Spencer, Give Me Liberty
Octavia Spencer, Luce

Robert Altman Award
The Robert Altman Award is given to the ensemble cast, director & casting director of one film: Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach, Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler, Alan Alda, Laura Dern, Adam Driver, Julie Hagerty, Scarlett Johansson, Ray Liotta, Azhy Robertson, Merritt Wever

Best Screenplay
Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story – WINNER
Jason Begue, Shawn Snyder, To Dust
Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems
Chinonye Chukwu, Clemency
Tarell Alvin Mccraney, High Flying Bird

Best First Screenplay
Fredrica Bailey, Stefon Bristol, See You Yesterday – WINNER

Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen, Driveways
Bridget Savage Cole, Danielle Krudy, Blow the Man Down
Jocelyn Deboer, Dawn Luebbe, Greener Grass
James Montague, Craig W. Sanger, The Vast of Night

Best Editing
Ronald Bronstein & Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems – WINNER

Julie Béziau, The Third Wife
Tyler L. Cook, Sword of Trust
Louise Ford, The Lighthouse
Kirill Mikhanovsky, Give Me Liberty


Best Cinematography
Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse – WINNER

Todd Banhazl, Hustlers
Natasha Braier, Honey Boy
Chananun Chotrungroj, The Third Wife
Pawel Pogorzelski, Midsommar

Best International Film
Parasite (South Korea) – WINNER

 Life (Brazil)
Les Miserables (France)
Portrait of a Lady on Fire (France)
Retablo (Peru)
The Souvenir (United Kingdom)

John Cassavetes Award
Give Me Liberty – WINNER

Burning Cane
Wild Nights With Emily

Piaget Producers Award
Mollye Asher – WINNER
Krista Parris
Ryan Zacarias

Someone to Watch Award
Rashaad Ernesto Green, Premature – WINNER
Ash Mayfair, The Third Wife
Joe Talbot, The Last Black Man In San Francisco 

Truer Than Fiction Award
Nadia Shihab, Jaddoland – WINNER
Khalik Allah, Black Mother
Davy Rothbart, 17 Blocks
Erick Stoll & Chase Whiteside, América

The Bonnie Award
Marielle Heller
Kelly Reichardt- WINNER
Lulu Wang

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.